Day 64: Springerle Lemon Anise Cookies

Springerle

Springerle Mold

Star Anise

Zested Lemon

Springerle Dough

Today I made springerle, which are traditional lemon or anise-flavored German cookies that are rolled out and pressed with a mold. The cookies I made use both lemon and anise and taste great, but I must say that I found the whole affair to be a bit challenging since the dough was a bit sticky. I had to use so much flour on the mold to keep it from sticking that the pattern didn’t turn out as pronounced as I wanted to.  In any case, I now have 5-dozen cookies to eat. Eek!

Here’s the recipe I followed, which I believe came with the mold when my boyfriend’s aunt bought it during a vacation in Germany many years ago. I can recommend the recipe based on flavor, but it might be worth it to check a few other recipes since I feel like a few of the steps could be a bit clearer, such as to what texture you should beat the egg mixture.

Springerle Recipe
(Makes 5 dozen cookies)

Ingredients:
– 4 eggs
– 2 1/4 cups sugar
– 1/4 tsp. baking powder
– 3 1/2 cups flour
– rind of one lemon
– pinch of salt
– 2 tsp. powdered anise

Directions:
Beat together eggs, sugar, lemon rind and salt for 5 minutes. Add flour, baking powder, and anise, sifted together. Roll out dough on floured board to thickness of 1/4 inch. Flour mold lightly and let dough stand 10 minutes to dry slightly. Press mold down very hard (tapping with a mallet, if necessary) to insure a clear, sharp impression on the cookies. Cut cookies apart with a sharp knife along lines between each design, place on cookie sheet, and let stand over-night covered with a clean dishtowel.

The next morning, shake off excess flour and bake at 325 degrees for 10 minutes. Do not brown.

According the the recipe, “Springerle will keep indefinitely, hardening with time. If you prefer a softer cookie, store in the box with rye bread or a small piece of apple.”

Finally, this is a reminder to participate in my social art project. Please send in entries by 6pm on Monday, March 5. Learn more here: http://makingmade.com/2012/02/27/day-58-undone-done/

2 thoughts on “Day 64: Springerle Lemon Anise Cookies

  1. Hi there. I came across your blog when I began searching for some information on my springerle mold. We have been told that it was my husbands Great grandfather’s. hand carved brought from Germany and that it is very old. Your’s is the exact same pattern as ours. So I am questioning the validity of the story behind mine at least with it being hand carved. Can you tell me about yours?

    Thank you
    Wanita.

    • Hey there, Wanita. So the mold I have was actually a souvenir from Germany that was purchased by a friend’s aunt during a trip to Europe, probably in the 1960’s. That said, I don’t think the fact that your mold looks like this one means too much. It’s possible that each region of Germany has its own pattern or something like that. Kind of like each region of Germany has its own beers. Anyways, I’d keep researching. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

