Day 126: Dinner for Friends

Fruit Salad

Saturday was a lovely day. After a delicious quiche brunch (thanks to the chefs!), it was off to Van Buren State Park to spend some time at the beach. Since we had never been there before, I was happy to find that it was a really nice place with a mile-long stretch of soft sand and big dunes.

After walking along the water a bit, we ran up a big dune and when we came back down, I jumped into the water. I went under four times, which was pretty amazing since the water was 48 degrees. It was ice cold and took my breathe away when I put my head underwater, but it was really invigorating. When I got out of the water I felt so alive!

When we got back to our vacation house, Jim and I made dinner for the whole group. We tried Bobby Flay’s recipe for beer brats, which I thought was just okay. We also made a green salad with strawberry, red onion, and blue cheese and the fruit salad pictured above. The secret ingredient in the fruit salad was a few tablespoons of brandy, which really brought the salad together. Super delicious.

After dinner, we sat out on the front porch of the house under  the giant moon and talked the night away. Yep, it was a lovely day.

 

Leave a Reply

