Day 188: Camping

Tree and Sky at Dusk

Cowboy in the Forest

Grill

Beer in the Forest

At the Cooler

Forest Taco Ingredients

Campfire

Michelada

In the Light

Feet in the Dark

This past weekend, a big group of friends and I went up to Kettle Moraine in Wisconsin for some camping. On Friday night, I took lots of pictures as we cooked dinner (delicious al pastor tacos!) and sat around the fire talking and singing. It was a hot night and I wasn’t feeling so good (I think because I drank an entire liter of water in under 30 seconds earlier in the evening), but it was still fun to be with my good friends.

That is more than I can say for later in the evening. As we put ourselves to bed in the three-walled shelter, we realized that the mosquitoes were merciless–it felt like one was flying into my ear and making that high-pitched and ever-so-annoying buzzing noise every five seconds. Meeeeeeehhhhzzzzzz. On top of the sweltering heat, it made for a bad situation.

Luckily, some friends were smart enough to bring a tent, so I eventually gave up on sleeping in the shelter and squeezed myself into the tent with them. At that point, I was safe from the bugs, but not from the weather, and only barely managed to get a fitful night’s sleep.

Why does the Midwest have to be so hot?

Anyways, despite the ridiculousness, it was still a good night with lots of laughs. Thanks friends!

 

Leave a Reply

