Day 229: Yosemite

Before the Hike

Half Dome Sunset

Yosemite Pines in Moss

On Thursday, August 16, I did the most strenuous hike of my life. On the Snow Creek trail in Yosemite, I climbed up over 100 switchbacks in approximately 95 degree heat without breeze or shade. The altitude gain was over 2600 feet, which is about the height two Sears Towers stacked on top of one another. It was intense.

And I did it! I’m not going to say it was easy. At one point, I felt faint and sick to my stomach because I was overheating (we found a rare piece of shade where we rested until I cooled down). At another point, Jim and I had to jump over a swarm of yellow jackets and then run as fast as we could so they didn’t follow and attack us.

It was hours and hours of hiking up and evading wildlife (I saw a squirrel so big I thought it was a mountain lion), but eventually we reached the top, where we were greeted by a gorgeous stream of rushing water and a deep pool where we could swim. It was like paradise.

These are a few of the photos I took that day with the disposable camera we bought. The first one is Jim and I scared before our hike. The second shows the view from our campsite when we reached the top. The last one shows some of the beautiful pines of Yosemite and the bright green moss that sometimes grows on them.

3 thoughts on “Day 229: Yosemite

  1. Pingback: Day 365: The Woods « Making Made

Leave a Reply

