Day 292: Hands

Hands

I think this has been one of my favorite projects so far. I love the results and think it’s funny that it is sort of like a grown up hand turkey.

Here’s how I made this:

  • Used a medium sharpie to trace my hand multiple times onto a white piece of paper. Then I scanned in the image.
  • Opened the jpeg image in Inkscape, a free piece of software that is somewhat similar to Illustrator.
  • Traced the image by going to Path > Trace Bitmap. I used the brightness threshold set to the default.
  • Then I deleted the original jpeg. To do this, you can just move over the traced outlines image and delete what’s underneath.
  • Created three  layers by going to “View” in the top menu and selecting “Layers”. Then I hit the plus button and made three  layers.
  • Moved the outlines onto the middle layer. You can just cut and paste to do this.
  • Created the background by tearing up pieces of newspaper and taping them back onto a 8.5″ by 11″ piece of paper. Then I scanned in the newspaper collage.
  • Opened the newspaper collage image in Inkscape, copied it, and pasted it as the bottom layer under the outlines.
  • Finally, I used the paint bucket to fill in different areas with color on the top layer. I had the paint opacity set to around 50% for the color, which you set in the “Fill and Stroke” menu.
  • You won’t be able to fill in some of the areas with color because they won’t be “bounded,” but others should work. This project is easy enough that it’s worth it to go with the flow. It will look good no matter what.

And that’s it. If you make one of these, let me know! I’d love to see how it turned out!

2 thoughts on “Day 292: Hands

  1. Hello! You can also create these by hand… I love the idea of outlining your hand… normally when I do these, I just scribble in circles, and then colour in the closed-in parts. I love your idea of the newsprint/text background. Fun!

  2. Kat! Absolutely, it would be fun to make one of these fully by hand (pun intended) as well! I guess one benefit of Inkscape is you don’t have to clean up any paint afterwards, which is nice. The finished result also looks a little different.

Leave a Reply

