Day 359: Blue Whale Plushie

Blue Whale Plushie On Christmas Eve, I spent a lot of time with my Mom.

While I sat at the kitchen table working on the stuffed blue whale that I was making for my new nephew, she spent hours preparing dish after dish for our Christmas meal the next day. It was nice to sit and chat with her. I don’t spend nearly enough time at my parents’ house lately.

After I finished embroidering the mouth of the whale and sewing on the eyeball-buttons it was time for me to use the sewing machine to finish the whale.  My mom brought me downstairs, showed me how to thread her sewing machine, and then left me to finish the whale.

I never did finish it. Instead, the whale fabric flitted around the sewing machine like it had a mind of its own, and the needle kept coming unthreaded, and the thread kept getting all jammed up in the machine, and I started swearing, and steaming, and getting extremely angry at the whole idea of sewing.

“Why did I even start this project when I find sewing so frustrating?”

My mom was on the phone with my sister when I started freaking out. Luckily, she got off the phone and came downstairs to see what was going on.

“There’s something wrong with this stupid machine! I don’t think I can do this!”

My mom was rather calm considering the state I was in.

“Let me look at it.”

She sat down at the sewing machine and took over. I went upstairs and worked on the bean dip appetizer she still wanted to make for Christmas Day.

By the time I was finished with the bean dip, the whale was completely sewn. I flipped it inside out and stuffed it and then sewed the final little bit by hand.

It was adorable, thanks to my Mom.

Blue Whale Plushie FaceAfter we finished with the whale, I went with my family to church and I sang with my Mom in the choir. She’s great at alto harmonies. I stood next to her and sang the soprano part, and we sounded nice together.

While we were singing, I thought about how great my mom is and how much she’s done for me over the years. I’ve been very lucky.

Note: This blue whale plushie is part of my “Jeannimals” project. Learn a bit more about it in my post about the plush heart I made for my niece. It also involves a sewing disaster.

Leave a Reply

